Château de Larnagol

46160, Le Bourg, Larnagol
  • Guest house

  • Visitable

History

Ideally located in the Lot Valley, halfway between Saint Cirq La Popie and CAJARC, at the confluence of two valleys, the village of LARNAGOL has kept its charm and authenticity.
Built on a rocky outcrop overlooking the Lot, the castle of LARNAGOL is nestled in the historic center of the village. The main building, massive and austere, former dungeon / home of the early fourteenth century is part of an extension made in the early eighteenth century. Outbuildings: stable, dovecote, vat room and orangery surround it. Deeply authentic, it has kept almost all of its decorations (fresco xvièmes., Inlaid parquet, wood paneling, paintings painted marouflées and decorations of gypseuses of the eighteenth century.
A bridge spans the street of the village to connect Castle and hanging gardens to "the Italian" (early eighteenth century, recognized exceptional in the Quercy.A mineral amphitheater dominates five terraces carved in the steep terrain and offer breathtaking views of the Lot and the Castle are dominated by four basins, fed by a source springing from a fault.
All buildings and gardens are listed as Historic Monuments.

The castle today

Place your defense from the twelfth century, property of the powerful family of CARDAILLAC, it is transmitted to the thirteenth century BARASC and marriage to Raymond CAUSSADE. It became famous during the Hundred Years War.
It was at the end of the 13th century that the new home was built. The family of CAUSSADE will remain owner until 1591.
In 1638 Pierre de LAPORTE, coming from a family of dress, acquires the castle. His descendants restructure and enlarge the castle in the early eighteenth century and shape it as it is today.
Raymond SUBES, famous blacksmith in the twentieth century has remained 50 years owner. He received many artists and political figures.
At his death, the castle remained closed and not maintained for more than 30 years.

My castle is visitable

. Guided castle and garden tours, times:
- from 20 April to 15 June and from 3 September to 2 November: 14:30 to 18:30
- From 16 June to 2 September: 10:30 to 12:30 and 14:30 to 19:00
Visiting rights: € 7, free for children under 12 years old.
. Night visits by appointment followed by a snack: 12 €
_ concerts extended by friendly meetings around a buffet.


Contact
  • Phone
  • Mail address
  • Identity Card / Passport
  • Already rent

Spoken languages: French , English