« 15 minutes from the capital, this magnificent estate is one of the exceptional places of the suburbs of Paris. »
Like many strongholds, the Domaine de Migneaux is born from the existence of a small stream, the Ru. It is to the lordship of Villennes that one owes the construction of the field in XVe century. The most illustrious of the ancestors, Jean II Brinon, is a rich lord, poet, passionate of beautiful letters, who will be the friend and the patron of Ronsard and the Pleiades.
At the death of John II in 1565, the lordship of Villennes passes into the Bourdin family by inheritance. The domain will know various successive purchasers until 1682 when Charles Dufresny de la Rivière, ordinary boy of the Chamber of the King, redeems it. This name is not unknown to you? Indeed, in addition to looking like two drops of water to Henry IV, Charles Dufresny was the official draftsman of the Royal Gardens, named by Louis XIV himself! The estate becomes a source of inspiration for this garden designer, who will mark a turning point in the history of garden art. Indeed, by drawing the different winding and "mountainous" paths through the obstacles of the ten hectares of nature, Charles Dufresny will create what will be called 80 years later the English gardens. Meanwhile, Le Nôtre, leaving the terrace of Saint-Germain, to trace the geometric perspectives of Versailles and thus reigns over the gardens "à la française".
A true carefree bohemian, he squanders all his fortune so that he can no longer pay his laundress, so he will decide to marry her to fulfill what he owes him. Malin! The estate was then awarded in 1690 to Cureau de la Chambre, parish priest of Saint-Barthélemy de Paris and academician.
The castle will have several owners who will follow one another. Among these owners, François Nicolas Lenormant, married to Marie Louise O'Murphy, a model of the first painter of the king, François Boucher. She is particularly famous under the name of Morphine, for having replaced the Marquise de Pompadour in the heart and bed of the Louis XV.
In 1791, the new owner of the estate, Jean-Baptiste Decrétot calls on one of the landscapers who will be the origin of the establishment in France of English gardens, Jean-Marie Morel. In the footsteps of Charles Dufresny, he redraws the woods and winding paths leading to Ru. It is particularly interesting to observe that this new park of 1830, remains to the same dimensions as the geometric garden to which it succeeds. In this, Morel does not follow the English example of using very large spaces.
The estate is then divided into several parts and becomes the property of different owners.
With the Second World War, the tranquility of the castle disappears. The Germans occupy it and the bombardment of Achères and Poissy shatters all the windows of the castle.
The castle will subsequently be sold several times and auctioned and uninhabited.
On the other side of the street, there is an addiction created in the 1800s by the castellans of Migneaux who loved nature and animals. This mansion was built in the spirit of "rustic chic" as for the Hameau de la Reine in Versailles.
Located in a large enclosed park of 6 hectares, we particularly appreciate the poetic and green setting of the estate. Renovated in 2009, the villa has beautiful volumes and very bright rooms. Present property of a Sino-Belgian family, it is decorated with souvenirs of travels and works of artists from all horizons that make it a unique, very personal place. This timeless place will be ideal to host your wedding in the heart of the park.